Mr. Dowling
The Southern Colonies

To what extent are the sections of the 13 Colonies unique?

The information found on this page is additional information. Please study your notes from the 13 Colonies presentations.

The Southern Colonies are Maryland, Virginia, South Carolina, North Carolina and Georgia.

The line that separates the Middle Colonies and the Southern colonies is called the Mason-Dixon line.

rich soil, warm climate

Social Classes

1. Plantation owners-wealthy, owned many slaves

2. Small land owners-owned very few slaves

3. Tenant farmers-people who worked on land owned by others
tenant farmers--->overseers of slaves

4. Slaves

Georgia-James Oglethorpe-jailed people with debt in England could make a fresh start

Maryland-Lord Baltimore-Act of Toleration-law that gave religious freedom to all Christians in Maryland (Protestant and Catholic)

Come back soon! Remember to re-read and re-learn!

Return to 13 Colonies Menu
Return to Main Page