Mr. Dowling
The Missouri Compromise

What was the purpose of the Missouri Compromise?

Slavery was getting closer and closer to tearing the United States apart.

With all the land being gained and settlers moving west, The United States Congress had to decide whether slavery would be allowed in the territories.

The Missouri Compromise was an attempt at settling the issue of whether slavery should be allowed in the western territories.

In 1819, there were 11 free states-Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, Ohio, Indiana and Illinois. There were also 11 slave states-Delaware, Georgia, Maryland, South Carolina, North Carolina, Virginia, Kentucky, Tennessee, Louisiana, Mississippi and Alabama.

Adding Missouri as a slave state would give the South a majority in the Senate.

Missouri Compromise(Henry Clay)

Add Maine as a free state and Missouri as a slave state (keeps the number of slaves and free states equal)
An imaginary line is drawn across the southern border of Missouri. Slavery was permitted in the part of the Louisiana Purchase south of the line and was banned north of the line.

What was the Wilmot Proviso?

In 1846, Congress debated the Wilmot Proviso-The bill proposed to ban slavery in any territory that the United States acquired from the Mexican War.

The Bill passed in the House, but not in the Senate. This leads to the establishment of a party against the expansion of slavery (Free Soil Party)

Come back soon! Remember to re-read and re-learn!

Return to Sectionalism Menu
Return to Main Page