Mr. Dowling

How does federalism divide power?

Federalism-the division of power between the federal government and states.


Powers of the Federal Government Powers Shared by Federal and State Governments Powers of the State Governments
Create and maintain armed forces
Regulate trade between states and foreign countries
Establish a postal system
Declare war
Coin money
Establish foreign policy
Establish courts
Levy taxes
Provide for health, safety and welfare
Establish and maintain local governments
Establish and maintain schools
Conduct elections
Regulate trade within states
Laws about marriage

This is not a complete list of powers that each government has. This simply shows that there is a division of powers and that the federal government and the state governments have different powers and some shared powers.

Come back soon! Remember to re-read and re-learn!

Return to The Government Menu
Return to Main Page